clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Falcons 2020 team captains announced

All six players are deserving of the honor.

Michael Zagaris/San Francisco 49ers/Getty Images

The 2020 NFL season is just around the corner, and teams are preparing their 53-man rosters. As they do every year around this time, the Falcons have revealed who their team captains will be in 2020. In 2019, the team had four season-long captains and one weekly captain, who would be revealed each week.

In 2020, the Atlanta Falcons will have six season-long captains: quarterback Matt Ryan, wide receiver Julio Jones, safety Ricardo Allen, center Alex Mack, defensive tackle Grady Jarrett and linebacker Deion Jones.

Overall, the six players selected are exactly who they should be. They all took different paths to get to where they are now. Jones an Ryan were selected high in their selective drafts and had to live up to the challenge of proving their hype, and they have. Mack had a great career with the Cleveland Browns before joining the Falcons, and has had a great career in Atlanta. Deion Jones, Jarrett and Allen were homegrown talent which have been the heart of the defense for years. Allen has arguably the best story on the team, having been cut by the Falcons in 2014, re-joining the team via the practice squad, and growing into what he is today.

They’re all deserving of being a team captains.