clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

3 Falcons selected to NFL 2010s All-Decade Team

See if you can guess the three players!

Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

We have now entered a new decade, and with that, the NFL’s Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced the All-Decade team for the 2010s. We came into this list with some trepidation—the Falcons don’t always make these—but it turns out they’re represented by three players, two of whom are still on the team.

Falcons players who have made the prestigious list are wide receiver Julio Jones, center Alex Mack and return specialist Devin Hester. All three are tough to argue with.

WR Julio Jones (2011-Present)

Julio Jones shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone, but more of a validation that the voters did their job. He’s a generational talent who will be enshrined in Canton someday. In his career, Jones has racked up 12,125 receiving yards and 57 touchdowns. He was the fastest WR ever to reach the 12,000 receiving yards mark (needing 17 fewer games than Jerry Rice) and is first in NFL history in receiving yards per game. Additionally, some of his accolades include being a 7x Pro Bowler, 2x First-team All-Pro, and 3x Second-team All-Pro. The other wide receivers joining Jones are Antonio Brown, Larry Fitzgerald and Calvin Johnson.

C Alex Mack (2016-Present)

Voted as the starting center for the 2010s NFL All-Decade Team, Alex Mack has proven to be the best center from this past decade. Mack joined the Falcons in 2016 after playing for the Cleveland Browns for 7 seasons. Mack is a 6x Pro Bowler and 3x Second-team All-Pro. The center backing up Mack on the 2010s NFL All-Decade Team is Maurkice Pouncey.

RS, WR Devin Hester (2014-2015)

For two seasons during the last decade, the Falcons were entertained by having arguably the best return specialist in NFL history in Devin Hester. On September 18, 2014 Hester broke an NFL record for most return touchdowns, previously held by Deion “Prime Time” Sanders. In his career, Hester totals 14 punt return touchdowns and five kick return touchdowns. Hester was also a member of the 2000s NFL All-Decade Team. His accolades include being a 4x Pro Bowler, 3x First-team All-Pro, Second-team All-Pro, NFL 100th Anniversary All-Time Team. Joining Hester as a kick returner on the 2010s NFL All-Decade Team is Cordarrelle Patterson.

Per their website, the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee is tasked with choosing who makes the National Football League’s All-Decade Teams. The first four All-Decade teams were picked retroactively in 1969 with the celebration of the NFL’s 50th Season. The accolades are highly coveted and speak volumes of who the best from the decade were, even if there’s always reason to quibble (no Matt Ryan).

In decades past, some notable Falcons who have been selected were defensive back Deion Sanders (1990s), kicker Morten Andersen (1990s), return specialist Billy “White Shoes” Johnson (1980s) and linebacker Tommy Nobis (1960s). Being selected to the NFL’s All-Decade Team is usually a positive sign that a player in on the way to an eventual Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinement in Canton, Ohio.

You can view the full 2010s NFL All-Decade Team by clicking here.