clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The best single seasons in Falcons history, special teams edition

Breaking down kicker, punter, and returner.

Seattle Seahawks v Atlanta Falcons Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

We’re capping this thing off with a roundup of our voting results for special teams, and the results span most of the team’s history despite featuring just three positions.

Dive in below and see if you think your fellow voters made the right decisions.


2016 Matt Bryant

Bryant is the greatest Falcons kicker ever, so it’s no great surprise that he has the top season here by an overwhelming margin. His 2016 saw him lead the NFL in scoring and hit nearly every field goal try that came his way, which is why he pulled down 57% of the vote total, with his 2017 and Norm Johnson’s 1983 the only other seasons with double digits.


1976 John James

I was a little surprised James took the crown here, frankly. Lothridge’s 1967 was a heroic year and Bosher’s 2015 was an eye-popping one, considering everything. In the end, James’ long career and truly excellent ‘76 won the day with 35% of the vote, followed by Lothridge at 27% and Bosher ‘15 at 22%.


1992 Deion Sanders

The fanbase’s abiding love for Prime Time is such that I knew he’d win this particular vote, but I was pleasantly surprised it was close. Sanders pulled down 28% of the vote, followed by Hester’s 2014 with 25% and 2010 Weems with 19%. There was a lot of love for Tim Dwight in the comments, too, but that season just didn’t stack up to the others from a purely statistical perspective. He did get 7% of the vote via the other option, however.

What do you think of this list?