clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ricardo Allen named Falcons’ Ed Block Courage Award winner

The award singles Allen out as an example of inspiration, courage, and sportsmanship.

Carmen Mandato/Getty Images

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation has announced that Atlanta Falcons safety Ricardo Allen is the team’s recipient of the 2019 Ed Block Courage Award. The award is given to select NFL players who are voted by their teammates as role models of inspiration, courage, and sportsmanship.

Each March, the award winners travel to Baltimore to be presented with their trophy at a banquet. While there, recipients will participate in outreach youth-level programs, such as a designated Baltimore City Rec Center and with the abused children at St. Vincent’s Villa. Some recent Falcons winners are Jack Crawford (2018), LaRoy Reynolds (2017), and Adrian Clayborn (2016).

In 2019, Ricardo Allen started all 16 games, recording 84 tackles and 2 interceptions. Allen was also selected as the Falcons’ Walter Payton Man of the Year nominee. Recently, Allen underwent surgery to address a shoulder injury he played through during the end of the 2019 season.

The 42nd Ed Block Courage Award Foundation Gala will be held on March 28, 2020 at the Renaissance Harborplace Hotel in Baltimore, Maryland. For more details visit the Ed Block Foundation’s website.