clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here’s your 2019 Falcons 53-man roster

Subject to change and change quickly, but here it stands in all its glory.

NFL: AUG 22 Preseason - Redskins at Falcons

The Falcons have temporarily finalized their 2019 roster, announcing their final cuts and coming out with a 53 man grouping that contains few surprises.

The biggest one by far is Ricky Ortiz. The Falcons kept five backs and still held on to their fullback, a move that is about as puzzling as anything I imagined the team doing. I’d be surprised if the current configuration lasts, but good for Ortiz, I suppose.

The other, milder surprise is Olamide Zaccheaus making the roster and Chris Cooper not making it. Cooper had played safety and corner at a solid level all preseason and seemed to be a player the Falcons liked, while Zaccheaus sometimes got less hype than sixth rounder Marcus Green and second year UDFA Christian Blake, though he outperformed both over the course of the preseason.

Otherwise, this roster is what you’d expect, and it’s a strong one on paper. The Falcons have the makings of an elite, deep offense and a promising defense, and the return of Matt Bryant no doubt helps fans feel even better about the team.


QB Matt Ryan
QB Matt Schaub

RB Devonta Freeman
RB Ito Smith
RB Brian Hill
RB Qadree Ollison
RB Kenjon Barner

FB Ricky Ortiz

WR Julio Jones
WR Mohamed Sanu
WR Calvin Ridley
WR Russell Gage
WR Justin Hardy
WR Olamide Zaccheaus

TE Austin Hooper
TE Luke Stocker
TE Jaeden Graham

OT Jake Matthews
OT Kaleb McGary
OT Matt Gono
OT Ty Sambrailo

OG James Carpenter
OG Chris Lindstrom
OG Jamon Brown
OG Wes Schweitzer

OC Alex Mack


DE Vic Beasley
DE Takk McKinley
DE Adrian Clayborn
DE Allen Bailey
DE/DT John Cominsky

DT Grady Jarrett
DT Jack Crawford
DT Tyeler Davison
DT Deadrin Senat

LB Deion Jones
LB De’Vondre Campbell
LB Foye Oluokun
LB Jermaine Grace
LB Duke Riley

CB Desmond Trufant
CB Isaiah Oliver
CB Damontae Kazee
CB Blidi Wreh-Wilson
CB Jordan Miller
CB Kendall Sheffield

S Keanu Neal
S Ricardo Allen
S Sharrod Neasman
S Kemal Ishmael

Special Teams

K Matt Bryant
P Matt Bosher
LS Josh Harris