clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ben Garland wins the 2018 NFL Salute to Service Award

Most patriotic organization in the NFL

Ben Garland of the Atlanta Falcons has been named the 2018 NFL Salute to Service Award winner. This marks the third straight season a member of the organization has won the prestigious award, with head coach Dan Quinn winning it in 2016, and special teams specialist Andre Roberts winning it in 2017. The Falcons have been known around the league and among fans as perhaps the organization with the most involvement with the military, and it’s not a hollow involvement.

Garland attended the United States Air Force Academy from 2006-2009, and joined the Colorado Air National Guard as a Public Affairs Officer stationed at Buckley Air Force Base in Aurora, Colorado. He’s now a Captain in the Colorado Air National Guard, and fulfills his military obligations between NFL seasons. Garland is involved with helping veterans adjust after their military service, and helps raise awareness for PTSD. In 2018, he participated in two USO tours, where he first traveled to Italy and Germany, and then Iraq and Kuwait.

Tune in February 2nd to “NFL Honors” on CBS at 9 p.m. to see Ben Garland be formally recognized as the Salute to Service winner.