clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jack Crawford named Falcons’ Ed Block Courage Award winner

The award singles Crawford out as an example of inspiration, courage, and sportsmanship.

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation has announced that Atlanta Falcons defensive lineman Jack Crawford is the team’s recipient of the 2018 Ed Block Courage Award. The award is given to select NFL players who are voted by their teammates as role models of inspiration, courage, and sportsmanship.

Each March, the award winners travel to Baltimore to be presented with their trophy at a banquet. While there, recipients will participate in outreach youth-level programs, such as a designated Baltimore City Rec Center and with the abused children at St. Vincent’s Villa. Some recent Falcons winners are LaRoy Reynolds (2017) and Adrian Clayborn (2016).

On the field, Jack Crawford had the best season of his career, finishing 2018 with career highs in sacks with six, tackles with 35, and the first interception of his career.

In his first full season with the Falcons, Crawford has proved to be a valuable member to “The Brotherhood” on and off the field. The 41st Ed Block Courage Award Foundation Gala will be held on March 23. For more details visit the Ed Block Foundation’s website.