clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Falcons vs. Jets preseason time, location, channel, odds, and a random meaningless prediction

New, comments

The Falcons will try to stay healthy and start settling some position and roster battles tonight in New Jersey.

NFL: Atlanta Falcons at New York Jets Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

Tomorrow, a long but fruitful offseason officially ends with the very first Falcons game of the year. Yes, it’s preseason, and yes, it’s the Jets, but it still counts.

Friday night should be an opportunity for starters to knock off a little bit of summer rust in a game situation, and a real opportunity for players jockeying for jobs to make their cases. You’ll see a lot of second, third and fourth stringers tonight, and while the football may be sloppy, their performances will help us figure out who is heading for a 53 man spot and who is heading for an early exit from Atlanta.

Here’s the key information you’ll need for tomorrow. We’ll see you back here at 7:30 p.m. sharp on Friday for the live thread.

Atlanta Falcons vs. New York Jets Preseason Week 1

Time: Friday, August 10, 7:30 p.m. EST

Location: MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey

TV Channel: CW

Streaming: NFL Gamepass

Radio: 92.9 The Game

Odds: The Jets are favored by 2.5, but why do you care?

Prediction: Falcons win, 21-17, not that it matters

Key Questions: Can the Falcons stay healthy? Will the position battles at fullback, defensive tackle, right guard and returner be settled in any way shape or form after tonight? Will Kurt Benkert win our hearts and minds, or just our hearts?

SB Nation Opposition Site: Gang Green Nation

Twitter: @TheFalcoholic

Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheFalcoholic

2018 Falcons Schedule

Week 1: Falcons @ Eagles, Thursday Night Football - NFL Opener September 6 8:20 p.m.

Week 2: Falcons vs. Panthers, Sunday September 16 1:00 p.m.

Week 3: Falcons vs. Saints, Sunday September 23 1:00 p.m.

Week 4: Falcons vs. Bengals, Sunday September 30 1:00 p.m.

Week 5: Falcons @ Steelers, Sunday October 7 1:00 p.m.

Week 6: Falcons vs. Buccaneers, Sunday October 14 1:00 p.m.

Week 7: Falcons vs. Giants, Monday Night Football October 22 8:15 p.m.

Week 8: BYE WEEK

Week 9: Falcons @ Redskins, Sunday November 4 1:00 p.m.

Week 10: Falcons @ Browns, Sunday November 11 1:00 p.m.

Week 11: Falcons vs. Cowboys, Sunday November 18 1:00 p.m.

Week 12: Falcons @ Saints, Thursday Night Football - Thanksgiving November 22 8:20 p.m.

Week 13: Falcons vs. Ravens, Sunday December 2 1:00 p.m.

Week 14: Falcons @ Packers, Sunday December 9 1:00 p.m.

Week 15: Falcons vs. Cardinals, Sunday December 16 1:00 p.m.

Week 16: Falcons @ Panthers, Sunday December 23 1:00 p.m.

Week 17: Falcons @ Buccaneers, Sunday December 30 1:00 p.m.