clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Falcons release updated depth chart in advance of Week 4 preseason matchup with Jaguars

It may provide a glimpse into how final cuts may shake out as the Falcons look toward the 53-man roster.

Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

The Falcons released a final preseason depth chart after cutting the roster down to 75 players well ahead of the deadline, and we may be seeing a clearer picture develop in terms of what the 53-man roster may look like.

A few notes:

  • Apparently you have to be named Matt to be a quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Sorry, Sean Renfree. Your parents should have thought this through.
  • Eric Weems remains ahead of Devin Fuller and J.D. McKissic on both the WR depth chart and the KR/PR one.
  • Corey Washington made the switch to CB today, but who knows about the permanence of that, because he's at the back of the WR depth chart on this version.
  • Aldrick Robinson, I think, is entrenched as the fourth WR at this point.
  • Wes Schweitzer is listed as the backup left guard behind Andy Levitre, and according to this, Chris Chester has edged out Mike Person at right guard.
  • I think that there isn't much distance between Levine Toilolo and D.J. Tialavea for that third tight end spot.
  • Paul Worrilow and Sean Weatherspoon remain ahead of Deion Jones and DeVondre Campbell, respectively, but that could still change before the season begins.
  • Dashon Goldson has been here for one day and has surpassed Damian Parms on the depth chart, which speaks volumes about why the team chose to sign him.

The depth chart in its entirety can be found below.


WR: Julio Jones, Justin Hardy, Eric Weems, Devin Fuller, Corey Washington

LT: Jake Matthews, Tom Compton, Laurence Gibson

LG: Andy Levitre, Wes Schweitzer, Collin Rahrig

C: Alex Mack, Ben Garland

RG: Chris Chester, Mike Person

RT: Ryan Schraeder, Bryce Harris

TE: Jacob Tamme, Austin Hooper, Levine Toilolo, D.J. Tialavea, Joshua Perkins

WR: Mohamed Sanu, Aldrick Robinson, Nick Williams, J.D. McKissic

RB: Devonta Freeman, Tevin Coleman, Terron Ward, Brandon Wilds

FB: Patrick DiMarco

QB: Matt Ryan, Matt Schaub, Matt Sims


DE: Adrian Clayborn, Brooks Reed, Dwight Freeney, Nordly Capi

DT: Tyson Jackson, Jonathan Babineaux, Cory Johnson

DT: Grady Jarrett, Courtney Upshaw, Joey Mbu

DE: Derrick Shelby, Ra'Shede Hageman, Malliciah Goodman

LB: Vic Beasley, Jr., Philip Wheeler, Tyler Starr

LB: Paul Worrilow, Deion Jones, LaRoy Reynolds, Matt Wells

LB: Sean Weatherspoon, DeVondre Campbell

CB: Robert Alford, Jalen Collins, C.J. Goodwin

CB: Desmond Trufant, Akeem King, Brian Poole, DeMarcus Van Dyke, Devonta Johnson

FS: Ricardo Allen, Robenson Therezie, Sharrod Neasman

SS: Keanu Neal, Kemal Ishmael, Dashon Goldson, Damian Parms


K: Matt Bryant, Shayne Graham

KO/P: Matt Bosher

KR: Tevin Coleman, Eric Weems, Devin Fuller, J.D. McKissic

PR: Eric Weems, Devin Fuller, J.D. McKissic

LS: Josh Harris