clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atlanta Falcons 2014 Roster Locks And Bubble Players

Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

With roster cuts and the final game of preseason looming, it's time to take a closer look at the Falcons roster and determine who is a lock for the final roster and who is on the bubble.

By my count, there are 39 locks for this roster, leaving 36 players to duke it out over 14 open slots and 10 practice squad slots, though of course not all those players are eligible for the latter. That gives this last game added weight for those who still have a shot at determining their fate, though I'd guess that the coaches probably already have 15 of the guys they plan to cut written in stone, at minimum. They've had a couple of months to weight the merits of these players carefully, after all.

Please keep in mind that post-cut signings or trades could shake this up, as always. Share your predictions for who gets cut and who makes the final roster in the comments.


QB Matt Ryan
RB Steven Jackson
RB Jacquizz Rodgers
RB Devonta Freeman
RB Antone Smith
WR Julio Jones
WR Roddy White
WR Harry Douglas
WR Devin Hester
TE Levine Toilolo
LT Jake Matthews 
LG Justin Blalock
C Joe Hawley
RG Jon Asamoah
RT Lamar Holmes
G/T Gabe Carimi
DE Jonathan Babineaux
DE Tyson Jackson
DE Malliciah Goodman
DE Ra'Shede Hageman
DE/DT Corey Peters
DT Paul Soliai
OLB Kroy Biermann
OLB Jonathan Massaquoi
OLB Osi Umenyiora
ILB Paul Worrilow
ILB Prince Shembo
ILB Joplo Bartu
CB Desmond Trufant
CB Robert Alford
CB Robert McClain
FS Dwight Lowery
FS Dezmen Southward
SS William Moore
SS Kemal Ishmael
K Matt Bryant
P Matt Bosher
LS Josh Harris

On The Bubble

QB Sean Renfree
QB T.J. Yates
RB Josh Vaughan
FB Patrick DiMarco
FB Maurice Hagens
WR Bernard Reedy
WR Geraldo Boldewijn
WR Courtney Roby
WR Eric Weems
WR Freddie Martino
WR Jeremy Ebert
TE Bear Pascoe
TE Mickey Shuler
TE Jacob Pedersen
T Ryan Schraeder
T Terren Jones
T Pat McQuistan
C Peter Konz
C James Stone
G Harland Gunn
G Adam Replogle
DE Cliff Matthews
DE/DT Nosa Eguae
DT Travian Robertson
DT Donte Rumph
OLB Jacques Smith
OLB Stansly Maponga
OLB Tyler Starr
ILB Pat Angerer
ILB Tim Dobbins
ILB Yawin Smallwood
CB Javier Arenas
CB Josh Wilson
CB Ricardo Allen
CB Jordan Mabin
S Sean Baker
S Kimario McFadden