clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Falcoholic 53 Man Roster Project, Pre-Texans Edition

The Falcons play the Texans Saturday. How will the 53 man roster shake out?

Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

It's time for the latest edition of our 53 man roster projection, one that will shatter the very foundation of your bedrock beliefs in the laws of the universe. Or, you know, I tweaked a few positions.

The big changes here come at fullback, where I finally acknowledged Roosevelt Nix would not be the starting fullback because he was cut from the roster. I've also got Jacques Smith sticking alongside Pat Angerer, because Marquis Spruill is gone and things are still mighty unsettled on the linebacker depth chart. Other than that, this is mostly intact from the last time we did it.

Many of you will ask, so I'll address it now: Why is Bernard Reedy on the active roster now? Mostly because he's been a deeply impressive player, and while I believe the Falcons will keep three tight ends, at least for now, and that Drew Davis is still the fifth receiver when healthy, but he won't begin the season on the active roster in all likelihood. He'll need to impress in the regular season to hold off Davis once the speedy special teams ace is healthy again, or to hold on to the fifth/sixth WR spot and force the Falcons to cut someone else. At this point, though, it's difficult for me to argue against his inclusion.

Discuss in the comments after you review.

Falcons 53 Man Roster

QB Matt Ryan
QB T.J. Yates

RB Steven Jackson
RB Jacquizz Rodgers
RB Devonta Freeman
RB Antone Smith

FB Patrick DiMarco

WR Julio Jones
WR Roddy White
WR Harry Douglas
WR Devin Hester
WR Bernard Reedy (until Davis returns/perhaps after)

TE Levine Toilolo
TE Bear Pascoe
TE Mickey Shuler

LT Sam Baker
LG Justin Blalock
Joe Hawley
RG Jon Asamoah
RT Jake Matthews
G/T Gabe Carimi
Peter Konz
Lamar Holmes
T Ryan Schraeder

DE Jonathan Babineaux
DE Tyson Jackson
DE Corey Peters
DE Malliciah Goodman
DE Ra'Shede Hageman

NT Paul Soliai
NT Travian Robertson

OLB Jonathan Massaquoi
OLB Kroy Biermann
OLB Stansly Maponga
OLB Osi Umenyiora
OLB Jacques Smith

ILB Paul Worrilow
ILB Joplo Bartu
ILB Prince Shembo
ILB Pat Angerer
ILB Tim Dobbins

CB Desmond Trufant
CB Robert Alford
CB Josh Wilson
CB Robert McClain
CB Ricardo Allen

FS Dwight Lowery
FS Dezmen Southward
SS William Moore
SS Kemal Ishmael

Matt Bryant
Matt Bosher
LS Josh Harris

S Sean Baker 
James Stone
Harland Gunn
QB Sean Renfree
LB Tyler Starr
LB Yawin Smallwood
CB Devonta Glover-Wright
TE Jacob Pedersen