clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Honors Awards Show: Will Any Falcons Be Involved?

In short, probably not. But the show is sure to be interesting regardless.


The league is set to host its second edition of the "NFL Honors" awards show on Saturday night as we prepare for Super Bowl XLVII. A total of 16 awards will be handed out, but can we expect to see any members of the Atlanta Falcons taking the stage?

No, we probably won't. When you look over the list of hardware for the 2012 season, we basically know who the candidates are for the most part.

Adrian Peterson and Peyton Manning are vying for MVP, Offensive Player of the Year, and Comeback Player of the Year. When you look at their numbers, either one could legitimately win. AP seems to be the front-runner when you look around at what different analysts are saying. You don't come within nine yards of breaking the single-season rushing record after tearing your ACL and MCL the prior year and not receive any kind of recognition.

Defensive Player of the Year looks to be going J.J. Watt's way, Rookie of the Year is down to RG3 and Andrew Luck, and the rest of the field leans away from anyone on the Falcons roster, for the most part.

Mike Smith could walk away with the AP Coach of the Year award. He was already voted Sporting News NFL Coach of the Year for 2012, the third time he's taken home that honor. Unfortunately for Smitty it looks like the Harbaughs or Bruce Arians are the favorites, per the major media figures. Smith did lead the Falcons to a 13-3 record, the No. 1 seed in the NFC, and their first playoff win under his reign. I'm not getting my hopes up, though. Are we really banking on the Associated Press to honor someone from Atlanta at this point in the year?

One other award that stood out was the GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year. Immediately Week 4 came to mind. You know, when Matt Ryan completed a 59-yard pass to Roddy White from his own 1-yard line, and ultimately put the Falcons in field goal range to seal the deal. Seems like that spectacle falls right under the genre of "Never Say Never", wouldn't you agree?

Well, I'm wrong. According to, we have five candidates for this award, and Matt Ryan is nowhere to be found. Torrey Smith made the cut for his admirable performance after the loss of his brother. Drew Brees is included for breaking Johnny Unitas' record for consecutive games with a touchdown pass. No love for Matty Ice, though, or any of the Falcons.

You can watch "NFL Honors" on Feb. 2 at 9 p.m on CBS. Alec Baldwin is hosting again if you care at all. I'll leave the comment section open for discussion. Who do you think deserves to win MVP, Rookie of the Year, etc.?

Be sure to follow The Falcoholic on Twitter and like our page on Facebook.