clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Falcons Finalize 53-Man Roster


It's official, the Falcons roster is now down to 53 players. Several long-lasting names will not be joining the rest of the crew heading into the 2012 season, so let's jump right into the list of cuts.

Atlanta waived the following: Spencer Adkins, Rico Council, Mike Cox, Drew Davis, Dominique Franks, Bryce Harris, Jerrell Harris, Tyler Horn, Marcus Jackson, Marty Markett, Kerry Meier, Dimitri Nance, Conrad Obi, Micanor Regis, James Rodgers, Pat Schiller, Peyton Thompson, Suaesi Tuimaunei and Joe Zelenka.

The Falcons reached injury settlements with LaMark Brown and former president Andrew Jackson. Shann Schillinger was placed on IR as well.

Some of these names were expected, while a few brought surprise to Falcon nation. Franks did not play well throughout the preseason, and it's clear Mike Nolan didn't find him as a fit for his scheme. Keep in mind that some of the players were released due to the new management that was brought in this offseason. Koetter and Nolan have their own way of doing things, and they will stick with those who they feel comfortable with.

Tim Toone, the former Mr. Irrelevant, stays with the Falcons, a welcoming move by many fans. It's good to see him finally land a spot on an active roster. Kevin Cone will also be the No. 4 wide receiver. The second-year receiver sealed the deal with his 49-yard breakaway touchdown last night.

A practice squad can be put together tomorrow with the eight players after they clear waivers. So, until that point, how do you feel about the current state of the roster?